Tags

, , , ,

poaching an egg

I had never poached an egg until today.

Evidently it’s a tricky thing to do, and was even last month’s Daring Cookschallenge.

One of my friends (okay, you guessed it: Jill) poached an egg for the first time the other day and was successful!  She read a few fussy tutorials, then ended up following the simple instructions from the guy in the video at the end of this wikihow post.

poached!

I thought I’d give it a go today, and it worked!  Well, mostly. 

Basically here is what you do:

1.  Boil some water in a saucepan.
2.  Turn the heat down a little until the water is no longer boiling.
3.  Add some salt and a little bit of vinegar.
4.  Stir the water to create a gentle whirlpool.
5.  Crack the egg into the center of the pan. [Edit: or you can crack it into a small dish and then drop the egg into the center of the pan, which is what I did.] Turn down the heat a little more (you don’t want it to start boiling again) and cook the egg for 90 seconds.
6.  With a slotted spoon, lift the egg out of the water and let drain.  Enjoy on toast or whatever you like!

poached egg on toast

When I said this mostly worked for me, this is what I meant – the egg looked poached, but then when I cut into it a little bit, it wasn’t quite cooked all the way through.  Most likely I turned the heat down too low and didn’t let it cook long enough for that temperature.  Putting it back in the water seemed like a scary idea since it was cut, so I put it in the microwave (on the toast) for about 20 seconds.  It worked!

run, baby, run

If you’ve never poached an egg, I recommend watching that video.  Thanks, Jill (and that dude)!  :)