Tags

, , , , , , ,

Key Lime Raspberry Thumbprint Cookies

One of the things I’ve learned in life is that you can’t tell my mom anything.  I think this is just a personality quirk that my family has learned to accept, and it can be pretty amusing at times.

My parents have a quasi-retirement house up at Lake LBJ which they tend to go to on the weekends.  It’s in a neighborhood, but there are lots of wild animals around, most notably deer.  Now, to give you an idea of my mom’s compassion for animals, pretty much every pet we ever had was a stray that she rescued.  Naturally, with all the deer traipsing through the yard at the lakehouse, my mom has resorted to feeding them.  This is a big nono in that area and last year she was caught and fined a hefty fee.   Most people would learn their lesson from this situation and stop feeding the deer.

key limey dough

Well…I was up there this past weekend, and guess what?  My mom didn’t listen and has resumed her devious/compassionate behavior.  It’s really obvious too because there will be up to 30 deer in the yard!  There’s a pregnant one that will even eat out of her hand.  After the couple of times I saw her feed them, she said, “You guys are making me look bad!  Go on, get outta here!” and then proceeded to feed them some more.  haha, oh my… 

cute cookies!

If you’ve followed this blog for awhile, you know that I’ll use pretty much any holiday as an excuse to bake.  So where’s my Mother’s Day post?  You’re looking right at it.  My mom’s all-time favorite pie is key lime, and so since I’ve made that pie and variations of it before (though pre-blog), I wanted to try something a little different.  I vividly remembered the Coconut-Lime Milk Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies (YUM) that Victoria posted awhile back which sparked an idea.  Usually key lime pie is served with raspberry coulis at restaurants, so you can see where I went with this.

waiting to be baked

Key Lime Raspberry Thumbprint Cookies
adapted from The District Chocoholic

Okay, so I got a little crazed while making these which you will see below.  You really don’t have to be like me (please don’t), but the blog has blown perfectionist tendencies way out.  These cookies will taste awesome no matter what, that’s for sure.  If you don’t want to fuss with key limes, or don’t have access to them, go with regular limes using Victoria’s proportions.  Also, I can imagine these being great with any citrus and filling, so go nuts!

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 egg yolks
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons key lime juice (from about 4 – 5 key limes)
zest from 4 key limes
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
raspberry preserves for filling

(I meant to rub together the sugar and zest first, but forgot!) With a mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add the yolks, vanilla, key lime juice, and zest and mix well.  On low speed, add the flour and salt.  Once combined, refrigerate dough for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 325F and line two cookie sheets with parchment or silicone mats.

Form the dough into balls 3/4″ in diameter (I used my small cookie scoop for size) and divide the balls between the cookie sheets.  For this next part, the recipe says to refrigerate the balls for 5 – 10 minutes, but I had better results with the freezer.  After chilling either way, press your thumb in the center of each ball.  You’ll probably need to reshape the edges a bit to make sure there’s a wall all around and fix cracks, but try to keep the OCD in check (cough).  Spoon a little raspberry preserves in each, and at this point, I stuck a sheet back in the freezer while I worked on the other.  When the second sheet was done, I put it in the freezer and the first in the oven.

Bake for 11 – 13 minutes if you used the fridge, or 15 – 18 if you went the freezer route.  These never seemed to darken, but they did expand a bit.  They seemed to be done when the edges had firmed up.  Let cool on a rack and store in an airtight container.  This made about 40 cookies!

Key Lime Raspberry Thumbprint Cookies

I really loved these cookies!  The texture was so tender, but they weren’t at all crumbly.  The key lime really came through I thought, and matched well with the raspberry.  Since my mom doesn’t need over 3 dozen cookies,  I took half to a party (what am I, 80?) on Friday where they seemed to be pretty popular.

so soft!

And yes, my mom liked them a lot, but I did have to stop her from feeding one to the preggo deer.  No lie.

