Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Creamy Vegan Potato Corn Chowder

Okay, so you know the show Iron Chef?  I know, who doesn’t… Pretend this is an episode and that I am about to reveal The Secret Ingredient.  You can imagine me as the Chairman and then maybe Alton Brown (yeah, we’re playing the American one).

I'mma cut you.

Sidenote:  If you were a challenger, which Iron Chef would you choose to go up against?  I’d pick Michael Symon because he’s from Cleveland!  Well, no…I couldn’t choose any because that would be laughable!  Anyway, I totally watched his winning episode of the Next Iron Chef at a swanky Cleveland restaurant/bar, and EVERYONE shouted when he won!  That city really needed that win. /sidenote

pretty veggies

Okay! Let’s do this.

Today’s secret ingredient is……

[over-the-top dramatic music]

TOFU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TOFU

So now America, with an open heart and an empty stomach, I say unto you in the words of my uncle: Allez cuisine!

[silence/revulsion]

Okay, I know this is probably the worst secret ingredient ever to some, but trust me on this one.  I actually tried this soup a few years ago as a meat-eater and loved it!  It was so rich and creamy that it seemed like it was totally laden with fat.  I had my roommate try it, then told her what was in it and she was shocked!  (haha, if you go to the recipe, you’ll see a comment by jessvla saying this…that was me!)

whizzzz pureed goodness

Creamy Vegan Potato Corn Chowder
inspired by AllRecipes.com

I’ve made the original recipe twice and decided to do my own thing this time.  Since I’ve been craving potato leek soup, this mash-up was born.  Make sure you get soft or silken tofu, and also don’t tell people what’s in it until after they ooo and ahh over it. :D  This recipe isn’t trying to be low-fat, it just is.  If one of your resolutions was to lose weight, then this might be your fix for when you’re craving something creamy.

6 red potatoes (about 2 pounds), cubed
2 cups vegetable broth or 2 vegetable bouillon cubes
2 (11 ounce) cans whole kernel corn, undrained
1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
2 leeks, chopped (greens removed) – see this tutorial for prepping
1 clove garlic, minced
1 stalk celery, chopped
2 teaspoons dried thyme
2 teaspoons dijon mustard
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)
1 (12 ounce) package soft/silken tofu, drained but not pressed
salt and pepper to taste

Put the potatoes in a large pot, then add enough water to cover them.  Add some salt and bring to a boil.  Cook until potatoes are tender, but not mushy.  If you are using broth, drain the potatoes and add the broth; if you are using bouillon cubes, don’t drain the potatoes and add the cubes to the liquid.

Add the corn, bell pepper, leeks, garlic, celery, thyme, dijon mustard, and red pepper flakes.  Boil for 15 minutes.

In a blender or food processor (I have one now!!) working in batches, puree some of the soup with the tofu.  I pureed about half of the soup – you can do more or less depending on how smooth/chunky you want it.  Season to taste.  FYI: I’m not much of a salter, but did use quite a bit (for me).

Serve with crusty bread!

Creamy Vegan Potato Corn Chowder

Mmmmm.  It definitely gets tastier after it sits for awhile.

It was nomilicious.

I’d say it makes about 6 servings.   Here’s my sexy 2 quart tupperware modeling my leftovers for you.

Creamy Vegan Potato Corn Chowder

Have you guys tried any other recipes that sneak in tofu like this?

