Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Chocolate Cupcake with PB Frosting

How have I never posted anything with peanut butter and chocolate??

It’s totally one of my favorite combos, so this is blasphemy.

But guess what?  Yesterday I hooked these two up in a tasty way: peanut butter frosting-topped chocolate cupcakes!

butters, sugar, salt, vanilla
beat it!

Tomorrow is Jill’s birthday, but a group of us celebrated it last night.  Chocolate/peanut butter is her favorite combo, so while I was unsure of what to make her, there was never a question in the flavor department.

Since we were all going out for drinks at a bar, cupcakes seemed like the best idea.  And guess what?  I had yummy chocolate cupcakes in the freezer needing to be eaten!

pouring in cream
Peanut Butter Frosting

I poked around on the interwebs and decided to go with a recipe by Ina Garten.  Her secret is to whip it with heavy cream for extra fluff.  Alright, twist my arm, I guess….

Peanut Butter Frosting
from Ina Garten

She doesn’t specify what kind of creamy peanut butter to use, but I usually bake with the natural unsweetened stuff.  Mine came out a little grainy due to this, so next time I might use what I make PB sandwiches with: JIF Natural.  As you can see, this is a very simple recipe, but the results are amazeballs: not too sweet with a hint of salt!

1 cup creamy peanut butter
1 cup powdered sugar
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
3/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/3 cup heavy whipping cream

In a mixer, beat together the peanut butter, powdered sugar, butter, salt, and vanilla on medium-low until combined.  Scrape down the sides and paddle as needed.  Pour in the cream and beat on high until light and creamy.  Spread or pipe onto your peanut butter frosting vehicle of choice. :D

This has become my favorite way to decorate with frosting because I’m not very good with the stuff.  (My first cupcake looked like it had a pile of dog poo on it.  Jill totally volunteered to eat it.)

Chocolate Cupcake with PB Frosting

And I couldn’t resist adding sprinkles.

beer 'n cupcakes.

Beer and cupcakes for Jill!   And no, all of that wasn’t consumed by her.

