Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Peppermint Brownie Cookies

Have you ever played Flip Cup?

My suggestion if you haven’t: Don’t.

This was happening at a party last night (Monday = Saturday for musicians), and it was my first time playing.  It turns out that I’m pretty good at it which is surprising, but I think I’ll pass next time unless water is the beverage of choice.  (No, none of us are college students anymore. :P)  Please don’t judge.

Note to self: Don’t blog about drinking games.  Do blog about cookies.

chocolate and butter chunks sexy chocolate chocolatebuttersugareggs looks like brownie batter...

We’re already halfway through December, and here I am finally posting something festive.  Typical, right?

I’ve had my eye on these brownie cookies for quite some time now.  Cookies in brownie form (AKA blondies) are delicious, so brownies in cookie form sounded like an obvious win. 

adding the mix-ins

These were super easy to make!  If you’re looking for some soft and chewy cookies to add to your Christmas cookie tins, give these a try.  You could even experiment with different mix-ins, like peanut butter chips! (err, minus the peppermint extract, of course…)

dough balls
Peppermint Brownie Cookies

Peppermint Chocolate Brownie Cookies
adapted from Joy the Baker

The original recipe linked above is for Chocolate Brownie Cookies with optional semi-sweet chips.  To make them Christmasy, I mixed in peppermint extract, white chocolate chips, and crushed peppermints.  Since peppermint extract is so strong, I just used a 1/4 teaspoon, but next time I’ll go with a 1/2 teaspoon.

8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped (I used a mix of 60 and 70%)
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon espresso powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract (see note above)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1/2 cup crushed peppermint candy, plus extra for garnish

Heat the chocolate and butter, either in the microwave or over a double boiler.  To avoid burning the chocolate, remove from the microwave or stove when the chocolate is mostly melted, but not all the way.  Stir until the chunks are gone and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine the sugar and eggs.  I used a regular mixing bowl and a big fork…no fancy mixer required!  Add in the chocolate/butter and mix well.  Now mix in the rest of the ingredients: espresso powder, vanilla and peppermint extracts, flour, baking powder, salt, white chocolate chips, and peppermint candy.  Cover and refrigerate for about an hour so that the dough is easier to work with.

Preheat oven to 325F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Scoop tablespoons of dough and place on the cookie sheet.  The cookie dough scoop I used is technically 2 teaspoons I think, but I made rounded scoops.  Keep a couple inches between each dough ball.  I staggered them and got 13 on a sheet.

Joy says to bake these for 10 – 12 minutes, but mine took more like 15 minutes.  You want the tops to crack (see Joy’s), which didn’t happen too much with mine, but they seemed perfect anyway.  Remove the cookies from the oven and immediately garnish with crushed peppermint (you’ll need to push it into the cookies a bit so it doesn’t fall off).  Let cool on the sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack.  Store in an airtight container.

This made 39 cookies. Random, but it might have made a couple more if I hadn’t eaten some of the dough (super delicious)..

Peppermint Brownie Cookies

I took these to a Christmas carol and cookie party, and they were a hit!  This was not last night’s party with Flip Cup, by the way.  ’tis the season for partying, I guess!