Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Bourbon Peach Ice Cream

Peaches and bourbon.  They’re both so southerny summery, right?  So many things they have in common with each other…

When you buy them, you take them away in paper bags.

They can both be a deep golden shade and are, uhh, juicy.

One is fuzzy while the other will make your brain fuzzy from consuming it.

Twins!  Of course they go well together.

peach peelin' made easy

However, I didn’t put the two together until I saw a post that Mary wrote about a month ago.  She’s making the cake for her friends’ wedding (!) and had a cake tasting so they could sample a couple flavor choices.  As you’ve probably guessed, one of them was peach (and cream) and bourbon.  I love, love, love peaches and have a lot of recently acquired booze.  Naturally I had to make this in ice cream form. 

nekkid!!

If making eggy ice cream scares you, then you should give a Philadelphia style ice cream like this a try.  I actually prefer custard-based (French style) more, but wanted to try something different.  The base has a milder flavor so the flavor of the fruit really comes through.   I couldn’t help but booze it up with the bourbon that I just-so-happened to have…  (In hindsight, I think the bourbon would be even better in a custard-based ice cream aside from my preference for it, but of course it’s good here, too!)

This is why I make ice cream.

Bourbon Peach Ice Cream
adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz (of course)

Peach peeling magic: Bring a pot of water to boiling. Cut an X at the bottom of each peach, then submerge for 20 seconds in the water.  Remove, place in colander, and rinse under cold running water.  Once cool, peel!

1 1/3 pounds ripe peaches (about 4 large peaches)
1/2 cup water
2 – 3 tablespoons bourbon
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup sour cream
1 cup heavy cream
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
a few drops freshly squeezed lemon juice

Peel the peaches (see above), cut them in half, remove the pits, then cut into chunks.  Put in a saucepan and stir with the water and 1 tablespoon of the bourbon.  (sidenote: I fussed over whether I should just add the booze all at the end, but this sure smelled amazing!)  Cover and cook over medium heat for 10 minutes, stirring after 5 minutes.  Remove from the heat, stir in the sugar, and let cool to room temperature.

In a blender or food processor, puree the cooked peaches and liquid with the remaining 1 – 2 tablespoons bourbon, sour cream, heavy cream, vanilla, and lemon juice until mostly smooth with some chunks.  Cover and refrigerate thoroughly (I let it sit overnight), then freeze in your ice cream maker as per the manufacturer’s instructions.

Bourbon Peach Ice Cream

Also, I have to apologize for being so embarrassingly behind on my blog reading lately (and keeping up with friends in general…you know who you are!).   I’m getting ready to go away for several weeks (with laptop in tow!), but will try to do a little catching up each day!