Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Breakfast Chalupas

It seems like all sorts of foods are on a constant rollercoaster between good and evil.  Coconut oil is good for you now, but agave syrup is bad news bears?  It’s hard to know who or what to believe, but I feel like if it Mama Nature made it, it’s most likely okay.  And let’s just get this out of the way: please don’t ever tell me that the fat content in avocados is bad.  Hello, GOOD FAT.  (For the record, I am by no means a nutritionist…feel free to dismiss my opinions if they’re not to your liking.)

EB eggs have nice tatts

After many years of being viewed as cholesterol-laden baddies, eggs are now packed with Vitamin D and lower in cholesterol, at least compared to an earlier study.  If you read that article, it’s unknown why, but thought to be related to the hens’ diets.  Speaking of hen diets, I was lucky to score a coupon for Eggland’s Best eggs (as a member of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program), which are the eggs I’ve been buying for the last few months anyway!  They boast having vegetarian-fed hens (wait, do other eggs come from carnivorous hens?!) which produce healthier eggs.  Being a vegetarian myself, I’m down with that.  They taste good, too. 

veggies 'n eggs

I love eggs and have no problem eating them at any time of the day.  Lately I’ve gotten into the fried and poached varieties, but scrambled has always been a favorite.  I’m not sure how many people know this, but breakfast tacos are hands down my all-time favorite things to eat, so it’s a mystery that they have yet to appear on this blog.  Honestly, I don’t eat them too often.)  Instead, I thought up something that could be a cousin to them and a sibling to migas: breakfast chalupas!  And you bet I used my free eggs.  Healthy and delicious.

Breakfast Chalupas

Breakfast Chalupas
adapted from my own recipe for Tex-Mex Migas

This recipe can be easily adapted to serve more or less if you go by one egg per chalupa as a guideline.  If you can’t find chalupa shells in your area, you can bake soft corn tortillas: spray both sides with cooking spray and bake for 10 minutes at 350F on an oven rack.  Or how about using tortilla chips to make breakfast nachos (aka upside-down migas)?

6 eggs
about 1/8 to 1/4 cup milk
oil as needed (I used olive oil) and/or butter
1/2 small onion, finely chopped
1/2 red bell pepper, finely chopped
about half of a small (7 oz) can of diced green chiles
salsa to taste
cheddar or Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded (shred it yourself!)
6 chalupa shells or see above
salt and pepper to taste
optional toppings: avocado, tomatoes, cilantro, green onion, additional salsa, pico de gallo

Scramble the eggs and milk together in a bowl.  Set aside.

In a large skillet, heat a couple tablespoons of oil (and/or butter if you’re using it) over medium heat.  Saute the onion until tender, then add the pepper.  Once the pepper is soft, turn the heat down to medium low and pour in the eggs.  Add the green chiles and salsa and stir everything together.  Cook until the eggs are no longer slimy, but not dried out.

Right before serving, spoon the eggs over the chalupa shells, then top with the shredded cheese and any toppings you want.  I used avocado, tomatoes, and green onion!

Breakfast Chalupas

With migas, the tortilla chips are added to the eggs when they’re not quite done cooking, which results in a mix between soggy (but good) and crispy chips.  The tortillas stayed crispy while I ate the chalupas since they didn’t get cooked with the eggs.  Perfect!

These would be fun to serve to guests for breakfast, especially since they’re so easy to assemble.  Lay out all of the toppings and let everyone play dress up!

