Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Farfalle with Braised Kale

I seem to have an addictive personality.  This is something I realized about 2 1/2 years ago when I became quite obsessed with fond of Flight of the Conchords.  Many of my FOTC friends with equally addictive personalities encouraged me to give the new Doctor Who a go because they were quite into that as well.

One highly productive week in July, I watched all of Series 1 through 5.  In case you’re wondering, that’s 73 episodes and specials that are each 45-60 minutes long (I’d feel even more ashamed if I did the math).  This is why I do not watch TV. But really, Doctor Who is SO GOOD.  It definitely has plenty of cheesy moments, but you get over that.

kale!onion, garlic, lemon

Oh, right.  This is a food blog. 

Kale seems to be my food fixation right now (see what I did there?), and that’s totally not a bad thing.  If you have never tried it and are looking for a good intro, this recipe is perfect!  Stephanie R. left a link to the recipe in a comment for Kale and Leek White Bean Soup and I’ve been wanting to try it ever since.  I made it last night and it’s totally a new favorite!

braising kale

You know how people always say you should never order spaghetti while on a date?  I would never even consider that because I don’t like eating it.  It’s such a nuisance!  So while at the grocery store, I moseyed over to the pasta section and decided that I would use farfalle instead of spaghetti, which the original recipe uses.

Why farfalle and not, say, penne?

Yes, that is indeed how nerdy I am.

Plus, my friend Jill just got into DW recently, so I’ve been watching some episodes with her which is why I had bowties on the brain.  (We just got to Series 2.  David Tennant: NOM.)

Farfalle with Braised Kale

Farfalle with Braised Kale
adapted slightly from Molly Wizenberg at Bon Appétit

As usual, I halved this recipe, so I guess it serves two now.  Wish I hadn’t because it’s awesome!  Use whatever pasta you want.

1 bunch kale, washed, large center ribs and stems removed, cut crosswise into
1/2-inch slices
2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 small/medium onion, finely chopped
4 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced (I used 5 because I <3 garlic!)
salt
1/4 pound farfalle (about 2 cups)
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
finely grated Parmesan cheese

Heat 1 tablespoon of the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Add the onions and saute until translucent, about 5 minutes.  Stir in the garlic and a pinch of salt and cook until the onion starts to turn golden brown.  Dump in the kale and remaining olive oil and toss for about 3 minutes, or until wilted.  Turn the heat down to low and cover.  Cook until the kale is tender (about 20 minutes), stirring occasionally.

While the kale is braising, cook the pasta according to its packaging.  Reserve  about 1/4 cup of the cooking liquid while draining.  (I just used a pasta spoon to scoop the pasta out of the water.)  When the kale mixture is ready, toss the pasta and lemon juice with it.  Grate the Parmesan over it before serving.

Farfalle with Braised Kale

p.s. You can watch Series 1 through 4 plus some specials of Doctor Who streaming on Netflix.  Just sayin’…