Tags

, , , , , ,

Ruth Reichl's pancakes

So I’ve totally posted a variation of these pancakes, but am being a little bit selfish here. Every time I make them, which is every time I make pancakes, I cut the recipe in half. The halved ingredients are jotted on a purple Post-It which is now covered in grease spots, so I decided that it would be worth it to post this version. I mean, at least for myself. See? Selfish. But maybe you just want to make a few pancakes for yourself, too.

To me, these are the ideal pancakes. They’re buttery, yet fluffy and get the slightest crispness on the outside. There isn’t much sugar in them, so the pancakes balance out anything sweet that you might add, like fruit or chocolate chips. They really are fantastic as-is, though I like to pour a little maple syrup on them because pancakes.

Even the batter tastes good.

Lumpy -> fluffy.

Ruth Reichl‘s Pancakes (for one)

4 ounces (half stick) unsalted butter

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt (I use kosher)

1/2 cup milk
1 egg
1/2 tablespoon oil

Melt the butter in a small skillet over low heat.

Meanwhile, in a mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the milk, egg, and oil.

Add the butter and the milk mixture to the dry ingredients and whisk until just combined, but still lumpy.

Using the same small skillet (I wipe the excess butter off with a paper towel), heat it over medium heat. Pour a third of the batter in the pan and spread evenly. A large ice cream/muffin batter scoop works well here, and three scoops is the perfect amount. Once the entire surface of the batter is bubbly, carefully flip the pancake over. They’re ready when they’re the brown-ness you prefer.

I always make three with this amount!

