Tags

, , , , , ,

milkbar

Christina Tosi’s Momofuku Milk Bar cookbook came out a while ago, but I never treated myself to a copy until a few months ago. Since then, whenever I have an occasion that calls for baking, I just want to try another recipe from it. If you’ve never baked from this book or even looked through it, the recipes aren’t necessarily difficult, but tend to be a combination of recipes.

For example, today I made a batch of the Chocolate-Chocolate cookies. After the ingredients for the dough, a half recipe of Chocolate Crumble is called for, so some looking ahead is required. Tosi also has very specific directions for creaming the butter and sugar for cookies on page 27, which she refers to in each recipe.

Chocolate-Chocolate Cookies

Chocolate-Chocolate Cookies

I really like this thoroughness along with the ingredient guide she has in the beginning. If I hadn’t read through that, I wouldn’t have known that she prefers using bread flour to all-purpose due to the high protein content. Basically, if you’re nerdy about baking and don’t have this book, well, maybe it’s time to change that.

Here are the other Milk Bar recipes I’ve made:

Momofuku Crack Pie

Crack Pie

This was what I baked for Christmas last year and my first Milk Bar baking experience.

Corn Cookies

Corn Cookies

So far these are my favorite cookies because they’re not too sweet, but I also love the corn flavor. It’s a good recipe to start with to get the cookie process down.

Cornflake Chocolate Chip Marshmallow Cookies

Cornflake-Chocolate-Chip-Marshmallow Cookies

If you’re going to a cook-out where you don’t really know very many people, make these. They’re especially a good ice-breaker if you’re around food people. “Are these Milk Bar cookies??” (True story.)

Grasshopper Pie

Grasshopper Pie

This was probably the most fun recipe, obviously. Best instruction, ever: “Now the pie needs to be Jackson-Pollocked with mint glaze.” Brought this to a potluck where it was also a hit.

There are so many other recipes that I want to try! Sometime soon, one of those cakes needs to happen.

