Tags

, , , ,

I was listening to The Splendid Table while driving to San Antonio this morning. They were having their annual Turkey Confidential show for listeners to call in with Thanksgiving or Hanukkah cooking queries.

There was one caller who I’d really like to be friends with, but I can’t remember her name, just that she was from Portland. Lisa? Let’s call her Lisa. Apparently, eels were served at the first Thanksgiving. (What.) Since Lisa was to bring something to a non-traditional friendsgiving, she decided that eel seemed appropriate. If you guessed that she was calling in about how to prepare eel, and you are correct. Get this: she had a bag of eels and they were ALIVE. Gah.

Tip from Ted Allen (the celebrity chef guest on the line): if you hold an eel by the end of its tail, it will go limp. Huh.

My family went the more contemporary traditional route of a turkey dinner (lunch). On my plate, no food was left behind.

Untitled

Well, that’s field sausage instead of turkey.

I was on roll and dessert duty, as usual.

Pumpkin Cream Pie

Time to plug in the pie.

Happy Thanksgiving to all and to all a goodnight.

