Tags

, , , , , , ,

Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Pancakes

I’m not really a pancake person, but when I want them, nothing else will do. (Okay, maybe waffles.)

It was one of these cravings that led me to Ruth Reichl’s World’s Best Pancakesย a few months ago. They sure seemed to have a lot of butter in them, but I’m all for fat, especially when indulging with pancakes. While making these, I was also craving chocolate, so in went the chocolate chips.

I think I can agree with her recipe’s title because these are now my favorite pancakes to make. They are light, but have more of a crepe-like texture and crisp up around the edges. Other pancakes seem too floury or something. These also aren’t very sweet, but are definitely buttery.

Speaking of butter, I say that whenever you have to melt some for a recipe, why not go ahead and brown it, right? Within reason, I mean…no need to brown all the butter for all the things. Pancakes are a total no-brainer, though.

syrup!

Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Pancakes
adapted from Ruth Reichl

Aside from browning the butter and adding chocolate chips, I changed up the order of the recipe. Why? Because when wet and dry ingredients need to be whisked separately, I’d rather whisk the dry first.

1 stick (half cup) butter
1 cup flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
4 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1 tablespoon oil
1/2 to 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Melt the butter over medium heat in a medium skillet and then let it brown. Remove from heat to cool.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk the milk, eggs, and oil. Whisk the butter into the milk mixture, making sure to scrape in all of the browned bits from the pan. Add the milk mixture to the flour mixture and whisk until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Wipe the skillet with a paper towel to remove any excess butter. Set the pan over medium heat. When it’s hot, pour some batter (any size you want) in the pan. Wait until bubbles appear and pop before flipping.

Serve hot, with or without maple syrup.

innards

Totally random: After washing pancake dishes, a scar on my hand reappeared: an oven burn from when I made Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies almost a year (as in 51 weeks) ago. Weird coincidence!

I know, nobody needed to know that.

