Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Awful view for lunch. (photo by Julie)

Picnic pit stop heading back from Northland.

Remember how I’d mentioned that I went to New Zealand again in April? It’s currently the same season here as it was when I was there! Does that make it sound like I actually planned to write about it now?

While the first trip a few years ago was solo, this time around I went mostly to visit my friends Julie and Andrew who are back in San Antonio now. Andrew took a sabbatical last year and they decided to spend it based in Auckland since he is from there.

I took a lot of photos of the things I ate (surprise), so here are some highlights. (The rest are uploadedΒ here.)

Hotcakes!

Pancakes with mixed berry compote and lemon mascarpone

First meal in NZ was appropriately my second breakfast. (The first was on the plane.)

Full veggie breakfast

Poached egg, roasted tomato, hash browns, veggie sausage, grilled haloumi, mushrooms, baked beans, and toast.

The fullest I’ve ever felt after breakfast.

Feijoa from J&A's yard

Feijoas are an autumn fruit, and this one was from a tree in Julie and Andrew’s yard. They kind of taste like a cross between a kiwi and flowers. Yum?

Favorite coffee shop in Welly

Clockwise: macchiato, cortado, flat white, cappuccino (dusted with cocoa, NZ-style)

Coffee is excellent in New Zealand (and Australia, I hear), and my absolute favorite was at Memphis Belle in Wellington.

Fancy cheese/tomato/onion toastie

Cheese toastie with tomato and onion

Toasties are a pretty standard classic. I noticed them most often at roadside cafes, though not presented as handsomely as this one. If you’re feeling adventurous, cheese and pineapple toasties are popular.

veggie laksa

Veggie Laksa at KK Malaysian in Wellington

famous fish 'n chips

Fish ‘n chips at the world famous Mangonui Fish Shop

Quintessential Kiwi fare…

best fish 'n chips

The best fish ‘n chips from some shop on the side of the road on the way to Coromandel. If you look closely, those are kumara (sweet potato) chips on the left…

Paella by Andrew, prepared in a bus.

Paella with green-lipped mussels

We stayed at this awesome place outside of Coromandel Town that was actually a bus that had been converted into a bach (vacation home). I’m pretty sure nothing as fancy as Andrew’s paella had ever been cooked in that tiny kitchen.

Yes, please.

Manuka honey-smoked salmon

The owner of the bach was smoking salmon one night and gave us a whole filet. So tasty!

Dahi Puri

Dahi Puri: potatoes, chick peas, yogurt, tamarind chutney, and spices on top of a chick pea cracker

These were actually the last thing I ate on the previous trip and I had to get them again. Everything we had at Satya was amazing (best lassi ever!), but these were ridiculous.

NZ donut!

And FYI: this is a NZ donut. Usually they’re more eclair-shaped, I think.

