Tags

, , , , , ,

Oatmeal Buttermilk Bread

I’m a little bit stubborn and today my arms are paying for it.

My lovely mixer is actually my dad’s, but since his bread-baking phase ended years ago, I’m “borrowing” it. Sometime before the adoption, the dough hook went missing and I have yet to buy a replacement.

You see, I have it in my head that I don’t really need to buy one.

What did they do back in the day before electricity? Isn’t having a stand mixer enough of a luxury? My arms are really wimpy, so kneading dough the old-fashioned way is like exercise, right?

breading

When a recipe says to knead with a dough hook for 10 minutes and it takes you an hour and a half by hand, it’s time to order that dough hook. And I should probably do some actual strength training…

Stephanie of Clockwork Lemon is probably the most bread-enthused blogger I follow. While I always tell myself that I’m going to bake bread instead of buying it, she actually puts this into practice. Last spring Stephanie posted this recipe for oatmeal buttermilk bread as a go-to everyday loaf and it must have left an impression because here I am blogging about it in November.

hot bread!

Ooh, I used that rusty pan!

It’s actually pretty easy to make because after letting the oats soak for 30 minutes, everything else goes into the bowl. There isn’t even any proofing of yeast either since it calls for instant yeast, which isn’t the same as active. The rest is just a breeze: knead, proof, divide and shape, proof, bake.

The result is exactly what I want in a basic sandwich loaf: soft, chewy, and with a great hearty flavor. It’s kind of amazing how the oats just seem to melt into the bread. As I always do with fresh bread, I sliced up both loaves and put them in the freezer. Toast for days!

Oatmeal Buttermilk Bread

I followed the recipe exactly as it is on Stephanie’s blog (okay, well other than using grapeseed oil), so check it out! Hers came out prettier, too. Usually I halve bread recipes, but didn’t with this one, which may have something to do with why it took me so long to knead.

Now I’mma go buy a dough hook and get buff.

PB and honey, snack of champions.

Yes, this is for me, and yes, I’m 30 years old. What of it?

