Tags

, , , ,

Maybe you figured it out this weekend.  Maybe you’ve known for months.  Maybe you spent last Black Friday brainstorming for this week you freakazoid.

Or maybe you’re just like me and have no clue.  Is it bad that I don’t even know if I’m responsible for more than desserts this year?

I guess it’s time to finally start thinking about what I’m going to make for Thanksgiving.  Hey, when you don’t have a turkey to thaw, it’s never too late, right?  …

Just in case I’ve got some fellow chronic procrastinators out there, here are some yummies made or craved by me:

Butternut Squash Barley Risotto

Butternut Squash Barley Risotto can be a side but is hearty enough to be a main dish for the vegetarians out there.  It’s so creamy and packed with flavor!

Why have Tofurky when you can have Crustless Potpie Over Sweet Potato Biscuit from Vogue Vegetarian?  Oh.  Em.  Gee.

And yet another veggie alternative that I’ve been eyeing for over a year: Nut-Stuffed Delicata Squash from Shutterbean.  Tracy says the sage makes the filling taste sausage-y!

Tender White Dinner Rolls

Duh: T-Day requires carbs.  Double Duh: Carbs are 100000x better when homemade.  No-Knead, Overnight Dinner Rolls were a delicious and simple answer to my dilemma with my family’s lunchtime Thanksgiving last year.

Pumpkin, Sage, and Browned-Butter Muffins

To bridge between savory and sweet we have Pumpkin, Sage, and Brown Butter Muffins.  Triple threats to wake up tummies on Thanksgiving morning!

I love trying new things, and am so tempted to experiment with Pumpkin Mochi by justJENN recipes.  Going by the comments, you would be a hero among gluten-free and wheat-eaters alike!

Pumpkin Cream Pie

But then this Pumpkin Cream Pie was so, so good last year.  With candied pecans, maple whipped cream, creamy pumpkin pudding, and a gingersnap crust, regular old pumpkin pie is forever dead to me.

Caramel Apple Cranberry Crostata

Not everyone loves pumpkin, though.  I think you’d be hard-pressed to find someone who would turn down a pretty slice of Caramel, Apple, Cranberry Crostata.  Cardamom-spiced whipped cream takes things up to eleven.

DSC04158

But if you can’t fathom a pumpkin-less Thanksgiving, this Pumpkin Stout Gingerbread Bundt with Brown Butter Icing will win over the haters, no doubt.  You mainly notice the ginger and brown butter, but the pumpkin and stout make things more intriguing!

What are you making this year?

Wait….I don’t know if I can handle more possibilities.  The feeble decision-making part of my brain might explode!

Just tell me what to make.  Just kidding!  No I’m not.

