Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Green Tea, Tofu, and Noodle Soup

Sarah from Simply Cooked was our November Daring Cooks’ hostess and she challenged us to create something truly unique in both taste and technique!  We learned how to cook using tea with recipes from Tea Cookbook by Tonia George and The New Tea Book by Sara Perry.

Cooking with tea?  Interesting…though I almost didn’t do this challenge.  The vegetarian recipe provided sounded good, but potentially bland.  I did it though, and my instincts were correct, to me at least.

green tea ginger bath

Green Tea, Tofu, and Noodle Soup uses green tea in place of broth, as you would probably guess.  The tea is steeped with fresh ginger slices, then gradually bok choy, tofu, soy sauce, miso, sesame oil, scallions, and noodles are added.  The only slight changes I made were using jasmine green tea and then bean sprouts for the garnish as opposed to micro greens.  My love for Asian dishes gave me hope that maybe this mix of things would actually be super flavorful, but unfortunately that was not the case.  Sad!  Maybe all it needs is some garlic?

It does seem super healthy, and it’s kind of amusing to get a caffeine boost from your food!

uncertainty

I will have to say that I appreciate how this challenge got me thinking about using tea as an ingredient.  The closest I’ve ever been to using it for non-drinking purposes was with these cookies, but really, I just used the spices and not actual chai tea.  Wait, I’ve made matcha mousse, but other than matcha, I hadn’t thought so much about other teas in savory things.  Yeah, I totally should/could have thought of my own tea creation for this challenge, but I didn’t.

If you would like to see this and the other challenge recipes, click here for the write up.  Thank you to Sarah for introducing us to a new way of thinking about tea!

Green Tea, Tofu, and Noodle Soup

