Tags

, , , , , , ,

Blueberry Crumble with vanilla ice cream

Remember how I was in upstate NY playing in a conductors’ orchestra?  Since then I’ve moved onto Cleveland to work at my old job and am done with that, but my old ‘hood just can’t seem to get rid of me.  The blogging got behind with all of the work that job required, so it’s time to do some back tracking.

blueberry filling

When I picked blueberries for the first time ever, I was determined to make a crumble/crisp/etc. with them.  I bought everything needed to make it…except brown sugar.  Doh!  On the second to last (and hottest) day in NY, I went blueberry picking again at the hottest time of day.  Texas girl don’t care.

Related side note: I was so very amused by the warnings they had up ALL over the gym about the heat.  Sure, it was supposed to be 100F that day, but to me, that’s a typical summer day.  The same thing happens in Texas, though – when the temperature looks like it might hit the freezing point, people flip OUT.  It becomes The Big Chill 2011 with newscasters warning people to bring in their pets, cover their plants, and let the faucets drip so the pipes won’t freeze.  It’s cute. 

blueberries and crumble

Back to blueberries!  I modified a couple recipes to make a crumble that would fit in the cute dish I scored from Goodwill.  I also wasn’t equipped with spices, so I used lemon zest which was perfectly fine!  Make things work for you, folks.

yay, dish!

Fresh Blueberry Crumble
adapted from Martha Stewart (filling) and Simply Recipes (topping)

Filling:
2 cups (1 pint) fresh blueberries
6 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice (zest the lemon for the topping first)
pinch of coarse salt

Topping:
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup light brown sugar
zest from half of a lemon
1/4 cup of cold, unsalted butter (half stick), cut into cubes

Preheat oven to 375F.

For the filling: In an 8″ or 9″ round dish, toss the blueberries with the sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice and salt.  Set aside.

For the topping: In a separate large bowl, combine the flour, salt, brown sugar, and lemon zest.  Using a pastry cutter, fork, or two knives, cut the butter into the ingredients until the mixture is coarse with pea-sized pebbles.  (Alternatively, you can throw everything into a food processor and pulse a couple times.)

Cover the blueberries with the crumble topping.  Bake for 35 – 45 minutes or until the filling is bubbly and the topping is lightly browned.  Let cool for at least 30 minutes before serving.

Serve with vanilla ice cream or else

Blueberry Crumble

This is both ridiculously easy and delicious!  I assume you can use frozen blueberries as long as you thaw and drain them.

In true Jessica style, I had a bowl of crumble with ice cream (pictured at top), then gave the rest away to fellow musicians.  While this would usually be an easy task, I was competing with Holy Cow Ice Cream for the space in people’s bellies…  (we both succeeded!)

