Tags

, , , , , , , ,

DSC01108

With a challenge with a name like Pimp My Easter Basket, one must keep both mind and tastebuds open.  After all, Easter candy is a bit crazy as is (why is that anyway?):  fluorescent animal-shaped marshmallows, chocolate eggs with all sorts of fillings, and jelly beans that put any rainbow to shame.  Things are bound to get out of hand.

Picnik collage

And yep.  The idea for Deviled Cadbury Eggs was actually one of the first that popped into my head for PMEB.  Honestly, it kind of grossed me out, but that didn’t stop me.  I was just going to make a buttercream frosting similar to this one at Culinary Concoctions by Peabody, but then thought there needed to be more components.  When making normal deviled eggs, I like to add relish and maybe a little diced celery or red pepper.  This got the wheels turning… 

One of my friends likes to make something called Snickers Salad for parties and receptions.  I think hers has chopped up Snickers, apples, cream cheese, and Cool Whip in it, which sounds horrible, but actually makes quite a delicious combination.  It looks kind of like a dessert version of chicken/egg/etc. salad, which inspired me to incorporate elements of it here.

Picnik collage

And here’s how it all went down…

Deviled Cadbury Eggs

These didn’t quite turn out as planned, mainly appearance-wise.  Since I thought the filling was sweet enough as is, I didn’t add a whole lot of powdered sugar.  As a result, it’s more gloopy than stiff like I would have liked.  Also, the piping tip got stopped up because the apple and peanuts weren’t chopped up quite finally enough.  D’oh!  Still, these taste better than one might expect…

6 Cadbury Creme Eggs
1 ounce (2 tablespoons) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 ounce cream cheese, room temperature
6 tablespoons powdered sugar
yellow food coloring
2 tablespoons finely chopped apple (I used Granny Smith)
2 tablespoons finely chopped dry roasted salted peanuts
cayenne pepper for sprinkling

1. Separate the eggs: Using a serrated knife, gently saw the eggs open.  This is trickier than it might seem – make sure you keep the angle of the knife constant or the shell will probably break.  (now there’s something I never thought I’d type…) Scoop out the fillings into a small bowl and set aside.

2. Make the filling: With a mixer, beat the butter and cream cheese until fluffy. Add the sugar, beat until combined, adding more if desired. Squeeze a few drops of food coloring in, mix, and repeat if necessary. Mix in the apples and peanuts.

3. Fill the eggs: You can either pipe or spoon the filling into the chocolate egg shells.  If you pipe it, you’ll want to use a large tip so that the apple and peanut chunks can go through.  Lightly sprinkle the filled eggs with cayenne pepper.

DSC01110

So the million dollar question: Would I make these again?  Honestly, umm…no.  This is coming from someone who’s never really been into Cadbury Eggs, though.  Too sweet for me!

Still, I’ve eaten a few of these because they are actually pretty tasty, if not odd.  The apples and salted peanuts provide a nice contrast to the filling, and the tang of the cream cheese helps cut the sweetness a little.  The most bizarre part is that I have a hard time determining if the burning sensation at the back of my throat is from the cayenne or the intense amount of sugar.  It’s most likely a combination of both.

DSC01111

You’ve still got a little over a week to submit your Pimp My Easter Basket posts! If you need a little inspiration, check out #PimpMyEasterBasket on twitter.

Don’t worry, I’ve got a more palatable PMEB contribution coming up.

