Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Almond Ginger Granola

I’ve been having a problem lately with the freezer being crowded up with too many concoctions resulting from this blog.  For example, these cookies which I made last month were finally finished off.  (The frozen dough balls never did make it to the oven.  Oops.)  And I’m pretty sure there are still slices of Stollen in the deep freeze, too.  Grody.

ingredients

While I’ve always got ideas in my head, not to mention a list with things needing to be crossed off, I just haven’t wanted to make even more things.  After all, I’m usually just cooking for myself.  But then I realized I could make something that I hadn’t made before, but have been eating pretty regularly lately: Granola!  ’bout time, right?

gratin' ginger

Uhh, yeah…I don’t know what my problem was, but I feel like I can never let myself buy it again.  It’s so easy to make and tastes so much better!  All it requires is measuring and stirring, which I guess I knew…but now I guess I know know.  :P

layer o' granola

Almond Ginger Granola
adapted from a recipe by Food for My Family posted on Good Cheap Eats

Like any granola recipe, this is highly adaptable to suit your tastes.  I used coconut oil in place of the canola oil because 1) everyone and their mom is freaking about how awesome it is right now and 2) I had some and wanted to use it and the flakes to go toward #16 of my list.   I also used 2/3 cup maple syrup instead of 1 cup honey because that’s what I had, and am totally happy with the level of sweetness.  Oh, and I doubled it because it seemed like a good idea.

4 cups rolled oats
1 cup almonds, whole or sliced
1/2 cup toasted wheat germ
1/2 cup hulled sunflower seeds
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
4 tablespoons ground flax seed
6 tablespoons coconut oil
2/3 maple syrup
4 teaspoons grated fresh ginger
1 teaspoon cardamom
1 teaspoon cinnamon (I used Vietnamese)
1 teaspoon kosher salt

Preheat oven to 300F with the racks in the upper and lower thirds.  Line two baking sheets with parchment or silicone mats.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, almonds, wheat germ, sunflower seeds,  and coconut.  If your coconut oil is solid (which it probably is, but mine wasn’t because it’s warm here), heat the 6 tablespoons of it in a bowl in the microwave for 10 seconds or until liquid.  Stir the coconut oil into the oat mixture making sure all of the ingredients are well combined.  Stir the ginger, cardamom, cinnamon, and salt into the maple syrup.  Pour into the large bowl stirring everything together thoroughly.

Divide the granola between the prepared baking sheets spreading it evenly into thin layers.  Bake both sheets for 40 – 50 minutes stirring every 10 minutes (and swapping rack locations), or until golden brown.  Let cool completely, then store in an airtight container.

This makes about 6 cups of granola.

big ol' jar

I already had the flax seed, maple syrup, and spices, but everything else cost less than $5 because I bought what I needed in bulk.  $5 for 6 cups of granola is pretty dang sweet, right?

Almond Ginger Granola

Hello, crunchy-spiced-sweet deliciousness.

