Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Thai-inspired Peanut Butter and Veggie Sandwiches

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m just a little bit crazy.  Last night I had a dream about Colin Firth, and it was a typically (not atypically) weird one.

This friend of mine called me up and told me to go with her to this place because Colin Firth was going to be there.  I’m not sure what or where this place was, but we went.  Lo and behold, there was Colin Firth and his wife sitting at one of the many picnic tables!  Maybe this dream wasn’t very realistic because no one was bothering them.  My friend sat next to CF, and I sat next to his wife.  I might point out now that he was wearing a hideous sweater à la Mr. Darcy in Bridget Jones, but that it was somehow Nickelodeon-related instead of Christmasy.  (I really hope that it was SpongeBob.)

Anyhoo, my friend kept bombarding him with questions, which he politely answered.  I think she got up to get a drink or something, so I finally was able to say something.  And you know what?  There was some trivia sheet on the table that listed three of his favorite things: (I don’t remember the first), smoothies, and kale.  What is wrong with my brain?!  Of course I then asked him if he had ever tried putting kale in his smoothies since he loved both, and he looked rather horrified.  My dream self then told him how I make kale smoothies and assured him that they were super delicious.

You guys, I am certifiably NUTSO.

And related: As promised, here is what I did with that peanut butter I posted about yesterday.  I made some certifiably tasty crazy sandwiches!

Thai-inspired Peanut Butter and Veggie Sandwiches

Thai-inspired Peanut Butter and Veggie Sandwiches
from my crazy brain to your open minds

There’s a saying in Baltimore that I’m going to use here: B’lieve, hon! Thai food is among my favorites, so this creation was bound to happen even though it’s so not authentic.   I think some avocado would take these sandwiches to nirvana level.  Oh!  And you could totally use a wrap instead of bread…and if either are vegan, then you’ve got yourself a vegan sandwich.  Score!

bread (I used whole wheat, toasted)
Thai peanut butter
marinated veggies (see below, or just use plain veggies)
sprouts, optional

Spread some peanut butter on the bread as thick or thin as you’d like.  Lay some of the veggies on top, then sprouts if desired.  Eat and feel good about yourself!  And also notice how amazingly good it tastes.

Thai marinated veggies

Thai Veggie Marinade
barely adapted from About.com

I was totally planning to just use plain veggies, but then I thought marinated ones would be even better.  Result?  I love the extra zing!

6 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon salt (I used more like 1/4 teaspoon…)
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1/2 loose cup fresh cilantro/coriander, including the stems, chopped
optional: I added 1 tablespoon each of sesame oil and rice vinegar

veggies of your choice, thinly sliced: as you can see, I used a carrot, cucumber, and half of a red onion.

Puree all of the marinade ingredients in a blender or food processor.   In a shallow dish, toss the veggies and marinade together.  Let them sit for at least 10 minutes.  If you want to let them marinade for longer (I let them sit overnight), cover and refrigerate.

sprouts!

Veggies are my jam.  Hurrrr.

Also, I’ll leave you with one more detail from my dream: Colin Firth got hot and took off his hideous sweater.  Underneath, he was wearing a white, sleeveless button-down shirt.  Dream!Colin, you are one classy guy.

