Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Thai'd Up Peanut Butter

I am happy to report that I actually followed through with the promise I made last post!  …sort of, anyway.  I did go to the new Y nearby that claimed to have a pool, but after I filled out the membership paperwork, I left.  What’s that?  No swimming?  Not when it’s a kiddie pool!  (What the heck?!)

The next morning I did find another Y with a lap pool, but it’s kind of in a shady part of town.  I swam!  Lots of water was accidentally consumed!  Today I went back and it was much better!  Exclamation mark!

Anyway, it seems that when I physically exert myself, I feel like I need to eat more veggies.  Today I poured carrot juice into my kale smoothie.  It was good and made me feel like the paradigm of health.  But a girl needs some protein too, right?

the blending pot

This is one of the ideas I came up with several months ago that I just finally decided to try out.  For any naysayers out there, it’s technically thick Thai peanut sauce.  Who doesn’t like that, other than you weirdos who don’t like peanut butter?  O_o  (If you’re allergic, I’m sorry.)

adding some extra nuts for more crunch

I was just going to wing it, but seeing as how I’d never actually made peanut butter OR peanut sauce, modifying a recipe seemed like the best idea.

Thai’d Up Peanut Butter
adapted from About.com

The original recipe is for peanut sauce, but I omitted the water for a thicker consistency.  It also has options for adding fish sauce and/or tamarind paste if you are interested in those (I just didn’t want to buy more stuff!).  Basically, this should be adjusted to your tastes, so if you think it needs more or less of something, then go for it!

Also, if you want it a little chunkier, add an extra 1/3 cup of peanuts after you’re satisfied with the peanut butter’s flavor and pulse a few times until they’re roughly chopped. (see above photo)

1 cup roasted unsalted peanuts (mine were blanched)
2 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon minced fresh ginger
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1/2 to 2 tablespoons brown sugar, to taste (I used 1 tablespoon)
2 1/2 to 3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons lime juice
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, OR 1 teaspoon Thai chili sauce (I used panang curry powder)
1/2 cup coconut milk
optional: I also added a splash of rice vinegar

Blend all ingredients together in a food processor or blender.  Taste and adjust as you like!  Store this in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to two weeks.  This makes about 1 1/2 cups.

So this should go without saying, but if you enjoy peanut sauce, you will LOVE this.  I mean, I totally do.

I’ll post this stuff in action tomorrow, but you might be able to guess what I have in mind for it.  Ran out of daylight today!

