Tags

, , , , , ,

veggies

I’m a big fan of DIY recipes.  They give you a new-found sense of badassery that makes the effort well worth it.

Fresh Ginger Ale?  Yeah, I’ve made that.  No big deal.

For some reason, I had never made broth.  It’s just so easy to buy it, but now I know that it’s also a cinch to make.  Aside from that though, you can control the flavor of it to go along with whatever it’s going in.  It does cost a little more to make your own, but I say go for it if you’re going to use it for something brothy, like vegetable soup.  (I spent about $6, by the way.)

Since I hadn’t ever made it, I used a recipe as a guide.  Don’t judge!

about to be cooked
simmered veggies

Homemade Vegetable Broth
adapted from Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home (in their How To section)

Moosewood has a basic list of things to add, and then a list of optional herbs and vegetables.  From the options, I went with garlic and mushrooms for my purpose (you’ll see).  If a list of veggies makes you grumble about maintenance, nothing needs to be peeled – it’s all rough chopping up in here!

2 large potatoes, thickly sliced
2 medium onions, quartered
4 medium carrots, thickly sliced
1 celery stalk, chopped
1 apple (or pear), quartered
2 garlic cloves
3 whole mushrooms
1/2 green bell pepper (okay, so this wasn’t on their list)
2 bay leaves
6 peppercorns (I used fresh cracked ones)
2 1/2 quarters water

Wash and cut the unpeeled vegetables and apple.  Place everything in a stockpot and cover.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for at least 1 hour (I went with 1 1/2 hours).  Using a colander or sieve, strain the stock and press out the liquid from the vegetables.  If you have a compost pile, throw the veggies in there!  (or be like me and give them to a friend who does.)  Moosewood says this will keep for 3 – 4 days in the fridge or indefinitely in the freezer. Makes about 2 quarts.

simmered veggies
draining the veggies

There.  Now wasn’t that easy?

Homemade Vegetable Broth

