Tags

, , , , , ,

Pumpkin French Toast

Yesterday I went to a David Sedaris reading/signing and he was hilarious.  If you ever get the chance to see him, GO.  He read some stories from his new book (Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk), shared snippets from his diary, and answered several questions.  Though I’ve read a few of his books, I haven’t read the new one yet, but really liked what we heard from it.  It basically seems to be a collection of short stories from the perspectives of personified animals and insects, but coming from the mind of David Sedaris, they’re super clever and funny.

My friend and I waited in line for the signing, but there were SO many people there that we hardly moved.  He had asked people to tell him jokes (he’s been collecting them this book tour!), so I’m guessing that’s part of why it took so long.  Oh, and we didn’t manage to stick around the whole time.  I have no idea how long he stayed there to sign books, but it had to have been at least until the store closed!

ingredients pre-mixed and toast

Anyway, then we went to see the new Harry Potter, and it was AWESOME.  It’s been so long since I’ve read the books, but I really liked what they did with this one.  I jumped about ten times, with one of the times causing me to accidentally punch myself in the lip.  Yes, I’m super smooth.  Also, I have a crush on the Weasley twins, and IMDb tells me that Ginny and I are the same height.

mixed up cooking

And today’s big event was that I made toast.  Well, okay…I am going salsa dancing with some friends in about an hour, but that hasn’t happened yet.

Like the Spicy Pumpkin Black Bean Chili, this is another idea for your can o’ pumpkin leftovers.  It’s an easy breakfast to whip up on Thanksgiving morning if you want to consume even more bread and pumpkin!

Pumpkin French Toast
(the eggy part is basically a small version of the custard from KAF’s Pumpkin Bread Pudding)

I’ve been wanting to make this ever since I made Cinnamon Swirl Pumpkin Yeast Bread, which I guess is why some slices were spared in my freezer.  Since most probably don’t have that lying around, I also tried it with my plain ol’ wheat sandwich bread, which absorbed the liquid a lot better.

2 large eggs
1/2 cup pureed pumpkin
1 cup milk (I used 2%)
1/4 cup brown sugar
pinch of salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon vanilla
about a tablespoon of unsalted butter and oil (1/2 each)
6 – 8 slices non-savory bread of your choice, a bit stale or toasted

In a wide and shallow bowl, whisk together the eggs, pumpkin, milk, brown sugar, salt, spices, and vanilla until combined.

Melt the butter and oil together in a skillet over low heat.  Place a slice of bread in the egg mixture, submerging it completely for about a minute.  Make sure it doesn’t get too soggy!

Transfer the dipped bread to the skillet and let it cook on low for a minute.  Flip and repeat, then increase the heat to medium.  Once the toast is cooked through and has reached your preferred darkness, transfer to a plate.  Repeat the process for the rest of the slices.  If your bread is small enough/your skillet is big enough, you can do a couple at a time.

Dust with powdered sugar or pour some maple syrup on top!

Pumpkin French Toast

I ate a lot of bread today.  It was my blogging duty.

