Tags

, ,

the spread

I’m not Canadian.  However, while on my trip to New Zealand, most people guessed that I was from there, mainly because I didn’t seem American?   I am super quiet, not that Canadians are stereotypically quiet, but I guess Americans have a reputation for being on the loud side…  Those who did guess that I was from the US often assumed California, but never Texas (“Where’s your accent??”).  It quickly became a fun game for me when people asked!

Anyway, why a post about Canadian Thanksgiving?  Well, three friends and I celebrated it yesterday!  None of them are Canadian either (in fact, one is from NZ!), but my friend Jill did live in Montreal recently for school and work.   She hosted it and it was a nice little get-together!   Talk about a vegetarian feast…

Julie's soup

Julie made a squash soup that was the perfect combination sweet and spicy!  I definitely need to get the recipe from her.  It was very smooth and a great fall-like start to our meal!

Andrew's no-knead bread

Andrew baked no-knead bread, which I had evidently never seen before.  At first I thought it was a cheesecake!  He said it is left to rise in a pot for 18 hours and is then baked in the same pot, which is how it gets its shape.  The inside is very moist, chewy and unlike any bread I’d ever had!  I’d like to try baking it sometime.

salad

I put together a salad, which was tough work, let me tell you…  There’s a salad mix at our grocery store that is a combination of arugula, spinach, and herbs (cilantro and dill).  To that, I added green onion, cherub tomatoes, and avocado, then mixed up a dressing of olive oil, Dijon mustard, red wine vinegar, garlic, and salt and pepper.  Will definitely make it again!

Jill's veggie pot pie

For the main dish, Jill made a vegetable pot pie!  There were potatoes, carrots, celery, onions, and peas in it, and she topped it off with homemade buttermilk biscuits.  Yum!

Jill's beans

She also made these very flavorful white beans with tomatoes and garlic.  Hooray for protein!  I had both the pot pie and beans for leftovers today, which made my tummy very happy!

Ginger Pear Tarte Tatin with Chocolate Puff Pastry

For dessert, I made my first tarte tatin!  The puff pastry isn’t burned, by the way…being the way that I am, I had to go and weird things up.  ;)  I’ll post more about it tomorrow, including the recipe!

Happy Belated Thanksgiving, people of Canadia!  Thanks for giving us a reason to make things and share them with friends. :)  And of course, thanks for hosting, Jill!

