Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Raspbanana Muffins

These might as well be called Lazy Muffins.  You see, I bought some bananas a few days ago, but didn’t eat them fast enough.  I’ve never really thought of myself as a picky banana eater, but evidently I am.  Green is no good, but neither are brown spots.  I like my bananas perfectly yellow, apparently.

Raspbanana Muffins Raspbanana MuffinsRaspbanana Muffins Raspbanana Muffins

Anyway, when life gives you overripe bananas, make carbs, right?  So that’s what I decided to do.  But then the two eggs I had were past the expiration date and I was too lazy to go buy some more.   You may assume that I decided to add raspberries simply because I had some.

I’m kind of a crazy googler and decided that a recipe could be found.  There’s always the vegan route, but I really wanted something that used yogurt because I had some.   I’m also not yet brave enough to tackle a full-on baking experiment and just throw stuff in a bowl, hoping for the best.

Raspbanana Muffins

So when I googled banana muffins yogurt egg-free, this recipe was the eighth hit and I think my eye was drawn to it because the title included “YUMMY!”. Good job, whoever posted it!   They do live up to that description despite being on the healthy side.

So far, I’ve had five and I made them this morning.   That’s healthy, right?

Raspbanana Muffins

Raspbanana Muffins
adapted from datSplat!

This recipe is originally for banana bread, but I felt like muffins.  (You’ll want to click on that link.)   It’s super adaptable and if you go to the original recipe, it lists various substitutions.   I halved it because I only had two bananas.   Also, I didn’t know how much they would bake up so I made 12 muffins, which came out about half-sized.  You could get 6 normal muffins out of this, or double the recipe for 12. I think these would be extra yummy if you sprinkle some brown or raw sugar on top before baking!  They’re very moist and would benefit from some crunchiness.

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
a handful of fresh raspberries cut in half
1/4 cup plain yogurt
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325° F. Lightly grease muffin pan.

In a small bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Coat raspberries in flour mixture to keep them from sinking in the muffins.  In a large bowl, mix together yogurt and sugars, then add mashed bananas and vanilla. Add the the dry ingredients and raspberries to the wet ingredients and stir until just combined.   The batter should still be lumpy. Scoop batter into muffin pan holes.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, checking in on them after about 13 minutes. They’re done when a toothpick tester comes out clean.  Remove from pan and cool on a rack.

Raspbanana Muffins

