Tags

, , , , , , , ,

turnip soup + TASTY BREAD

So we’re one week into December, and I have to say that while it’s been nice not making myself post every day for NaBloPoMo, it’s also been weird. More often than not, I feel like I’ve been in a bit of a funk, though not entirely because of not blogging. NaBloPoMo did often feel like a struggle, but having the daily purpose/accomplishment made up for it, which was something I noticed last year. I did need the breather, though. Last weekend I washed an absurd amount of dishes due to baking for Austin Bakes, so there wasn’t any real cooking or baking for the next few days to write about anyway.

I’m not sure what led to this realization, but it occurred to me the other day that I had never (knowingly) had a turnip. How had this not happened? I am 31 years old. Turnips are pretty basic, right? I seem to think of them as “northern” vegetables, along with the somewhat equally foreign parsnips and rutabagas. They are all available here, so I guess it’s more that my family never ate them. In my quest to try pretty much anything once (and to also pull myself out of mopey-ness), turnip soup needed to be made.

purple!

A lot of the recipes I found had things like leeks and potatoes, and while they sounded delicious, I wanted TURNIP soup so that I could really, you know, taste the turnips. The recipe I settled on isn’t so much a recipe as much as it is a (quite lovely) description of the process. There’s no ingredient list or really even specifications of just how much of this or that, but that’s not really needed with simple cooking. Part of what drew me to the post was that the author described exactly the kind of weather that we were having that day: cold and rainy, only she says everything a lot better than I ever could.

The process was simple enough. Sauté an onion, add salt, and garlic. Then in go the turnips and broth or water. I added a few sprigs of thyme and then let it all simmer until the turnips were tender. Finally, I pureed the soup and that was that.

Lucky for me, I had spent the previous evening volunteering for the lovely Citygram Holiday Soirée and left with a fresh baguette from Easy Tiger. I have to say that when you have both really good bread and a bowl of turnip soup, the bread will steal the show, hands down. Don’t get me wrong, I did like the soup. It was kind of like a thin potato soup, only with a slight earthy bitterness. I topped it with a drizzle of olive oil, more fresh thyme, and some sprinkles of smoked paprika because beige soup looks pretty boring. Well, and those are all good things. But really, I’m so glad that I had that delicious, chewy bread.

specks, leaves, swirls

I think what I made was just fine, but if I do feel like having turnip soup again, I might try throwing some leeks and potatoes in there like the other variations. I will also make sure to have a baguette.

Back to the blogging issue: now that I’ve had a week off, will I try to blog every day on a regular basis? Heck no. I do think it would be a good idea to set weekly or monthly posting goals because before November, there were only six posts for 2013. That’s not really acceptable. Six posts for the rest of this month/year does seem like a good number, though.

Deal? Deal. I’m already feeling better.

