Tags

, , ,

Holy Cow double rainbow!

One of the best things about spending a month in upstate New York comes in the form of a simple ice cream shop. In this case, that shop is called Holy Cow Ice Cream and it’s located at the end of a strip center in Red Hook, about 100 miles north of New York City.

The inside of the shop is very basic with a few freezer cases, a menu, and various ice cream machines, but no seating; that’s outside in the form of picnic tables.ย Offerings include hard ice cream, soft-serve, flavor burst (soft-serve with the gel flavor edges..), Razzles (think McFlurry or Blizzard), egg creams, floats, malts, milkshakes, and probably other things I’m forgetting.

holycow

black raspberry | mint chocolate chip | blueberry pie | coffee + fudge

99% of the time, I’ve gone with the hard ice cream. My favorite Holy Cow flavor is black raspberry, which was my first choice as I usually gravitate toward fruity flavors. Last year I discovered how awesome this one is with hot fudge! Our second visit was on a hot afternoon, so mint chocolate chip a great, refreshing choice. Probably their most unique ice cream flavor is blueberry pie: vanilla with blueberries and actual bits of pie crust. Tasty! Aside from the toppings, the odd flavor out here is coffee; it was the only one that I hadn’t tried last summer. While it was good, the coffee flavor could have been much stronger.

There are several more flavors that exceeded my number of visits this time around: Holy Cow (essentially moose tracks), chocolate peanut butter, chocolate, vanilla, strawberry, butter pecan, and rainbow sherbet. Of these, I’ve only had the first!

Untitled

For my last visit, I branched out from scoops and ordered a banana milkshake. It really tasted like a vanilla shake with banana bits, but I would choose that any day over a fake banana-flavored shake. (I’m looking at you, Steak and Shake.) Note: I had no problem finishing it…

Overall, if you’re not looking for artisanal ice cream with mind-blowingย flavor combinations, Holy Cow is a solid choice. The best part of all is how CHEAP everything is! If you ever get the chance to go, it will likely be crowded. However, they keep the place well-staffed so even if there’s a long line, you’ll be out of there quickly!

Holy Cow Ice Cream
7270 S Broadway #1
Red Hook, NY
845-758-5959
Monday – Sunday, 11am – 10pm (open year round!)

