Tags

, , , , , ,

Battenberg Cake

Mandy of What The Fruitcake?! came to our rescue last minute to present us with the Battenberg Cake challenge! She highlighted Mary Berry’s techniques and recipes to allow us to create this unique little cake with ease.

You’ve seen these cakes, right? Likely it’s just been a photo on the box for a special pan and you’ve wondered, now how does that work? That was exactly my position with these cakes before the challenge was posted, and then once I saw how it was done, it seemed so obvious and simple.

Untitled

Well, yes and no. Making a foil and parchment divider for a glass dish with rounded edges sounds like a super fun time, doesn’t it? If you agreed, you are a CRAZY person. Seriously. It turns out it doesn’t need to be perfect though because the batter is so thick, it isn’t going anywhere.

2f73b258-b9bb-4627-92e6-d0a9e77fb9f7

Untitled

I don’t really want to say too much about the rest. Basically, the cake itself turned out fine; it tasted good and the colors baked up separately. However, to get the pieces all squared off, I had to trim off so much cake that it seemed like a waste. I also found out that store-bought marzipan is inedible (to me anyway). I’ve made it before but wanted to save some time. Argh. Key lime curd was the other store-bought time-saver, but it was so delicious!

grr, marzipan...

In the end, I never wanted to eat the actual completed cake and so it went into the trash. :( The silver lining is that I now know how Battenberg cakes are made (and what they’re called), plus I know that I probably won’t want to make one again. Yay? You can see step-by-step how they’re made if you go to the challenge write-up.

Untitled

Sorry for the grumpy post…

