Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Balsamic Strawberry Basil Pizza

I was pretty stoked to find out that a farmer’s market now takes place at my Y every Tuesday morning. Produce and elliptical in one trip! Health made easy! And yeah, Tuesday morning maybe seems like an odd time, but I wasn’t the only person there. I guess there are other people here who keep odd hours and like fresh, local food.

toppings

I had been thinking of making a pizza with the swiss chard and zucchini because, heck, there is NO PIZZA on this 1.75 year-old baking blog. But then I started to worry about the strawberries and how ripe they were. I can throw strawberries on dough and call it pizza…right? How about letting them hang out with basil in some balsamic vinegar first? I like where this is going!

Pizza without cheese is totally a thing, but not in my dreams. That’s when I was faced with a dilemma: goat cheese would be an absolute no-brainer on a strawberry basil pizza. However, as I was pretty sure that I’d be the only person eating this experiment, umm…no. Ricotta was the next good option, and then since it’s kind of bland, I thought salted pistachios would be a good accessory. Food jewelry!

pistachios magically appear

It’s kind of an odd pizza, but totally works! You know that space somewhere between sweet and savory? There’s where you’ll find this pizza, but it could be pushed more either way if you choose. As it is, I could see it on a brunch table or served as a springy appetizer.

p.s. Please use goat cheese if you’re into it.

To recreate the pizza, here is what I did:

  • I made Jim Lahey’s no knead pizza dough as found on Shutterbean. It’s really easy and makes enough for two pizzas!
  • After greasing up the pan, I spread out the dough and then coated it with 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Then I covered it with  strawberries with basil and balsamic from Rufus’ Guide.
  • Finally before baking, I dotted the pizza with about 1/4 to 1/3 cup of ricotta and then seasoned everything with coarse black pepper. (The dough recipe says to bake at 500F for 18-20 minutes, but mine was ready after 15!)
  • When finished, I sprinkled with 1/4 cup of chopped, roasted/salted pistachios.

Hello, crazy pizza!

Balsamic Strawberry Basil Pizza

If you make this and have leftovers, heat the slices up in the oven so they’re crispy! Soggy microwaved strawberry pizza is not a good thing…trust me.

And now I’m craving this ice cream.

