Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spicy Fudge Babies

Years ago, my bro-in-law went on the Paleo diet. Years ago, a lot of people thought this sounded kooky. “Paleo, as in Paleolithic? What, do you hunt for your food and cook it over a fire?” It sounded like a good, healthy way to eat, but imagining a world without cheese or bread made me sad. And then I went the vegetarian route. Cavemen didn’t eat tofu, apparently.

Now it seems like everyone is jumping on the Paleo wagon. Rachel just threw an engagement party for her little brother and his fiancee. When I asked if there was anything I could make, she said that most of her relatives were eating like cavemen! Always up for a challenge, I said I’d make a Paleo-friendly dessert and set off googling. The first hit (maybe due to my location?) was from the Austin Post for things called Fudge Babies by Chocolate-Covered Katie. After reading a bunch (okay, that’s being generous) of other possible recipes, Fudge Babies it was.

caveman bakin'

Have you ever had a Lärabar? These should really be called Lärababies because that’s just how they taste. In particular, they’re like the (retired) Cocoa Mōlé ones because I spiced them up with cinnamon and chipotle powder. I also used almonds instead of walnuts, but had forgotten how almonds are less oily, which was not helpful when it came to shaping the balls. That’s when I decided to add some almond butter to hold things together, et voila! Spheres of raw, natural yumminess.

While maybe not the most attractive of treats, these were a huge hit; not a single one was left at the end of the party and everyone kept asking about how to make them! Katie has some other variations on her blog along with recipes for homemade Lärabars. Note: some have peanuts, which aren’t Paleo-friendly.

Spicy Fudge Babies

Spicy Fudge Babies
adapted from Chocolate-Covered Katie

1 cup (120 grams) almonds
1 1/3 cups (230 grams) pitted dates
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon chipotle powder
4 tablespoons natural unsweetened cocoa powder
4 1/2 tablespoons natural almond butter

Dump everything into a food processor and blend well. It will make a coarse meal. Form into balls…that’s it!

I was able to make 20 with this recipe.

Spicy Fudge Babies

