Tags

, , , , ,

Baked Brie Mummy Head

My roommates and I threw a Halloween party last night.  It was pretty awesome, especially because we planned ahead and made stuff!  There was a Martha Stewart magazine involved because she has her people have good ideas.  We used one concept, but then my brain wheels started turning.

Baked brie….wrapped like a mummy head??  YES.  I didn’t find any on the internets (just mummy hands!) which gave me a Martha moment.  Ohhh yeah.

It’s really super easy to do.  Here’s what you need:  

2 sheets of frozen puff pastry, thawed (I used the cheap Pepperidge Farm stuff)
1 wheel of brie
red jam of your choice, like cherry or raspberry
2 pieces of dried fruit, like prunes or apricots
egg wash: 1 egg beaten with 1 teaspoon water

brie on dough

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Place a sheet of puff pastry on your baking vehicle of choice (I used a tart pan).  Set the brie in the center.

cherry jam blood!

Spread the jam on top of the brie.  Braaaaains!

wrap it up

Wrap it all up.

all gauzed up

With a pizza cutter, cut strips of gauze out of the other sheet of puff pastry. Wrap that mummy up!  Give it some fruit eyes! I used Turkish apricots which are dark…and I don’t know why that is.

Also, I trimmed some of the strips around the sides, but left some hanging for that haggard look.

mummy!

Brush the egg wash all over, then bake for about 30 minutes.  Let it sit for about 10 minutes before you cut into it!  I just served it with slices of baguette and crackers, but apple and pear slices would be good, too.

yuck.

I took this photo this morning so you could see how gross it looks.  Confession: I’m not much of a brie fan, but couldn’t not make this!

Here are some of the other things we had:

spooky sangria

Eyeball Sangria, doubled from All Recipes, was the elixir of choice!

roasted garlic hhhhhummus

Roasted Garlic Hummus from Annie’s Eats – suuuper garlicky to keep Robert Pattinson away.

mozzarella eyes!

Mozzarella Eyeballs = crazy easy!  Saw the photo from Macheesmo while doing an image search and just used marinara sauce for the blood.

DSC04065

My roommates made the cute brownies and cupcakes! (weird that I didn’t make a dessert, right?)

And while I’m at it, here are a few more ideas if you’re having a party on actual Halloween:

Butterbeer! – I was totally going to make this last night, but forgot.  Tomorrow!
Halloween Pasta –  creepy black noodles are creepy, but delicious with the roasted veggies.
Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies – I also meant to make these because they are soooo good, but there was already so much stuff on that table!

Halloween spread!

Happy Halloween!

xoxo,
Conan with musical guests Salt-n-Pepa

ohh baby, baby!

