Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Martian Cookies

My cat is in Austin now and I have finally baked something.  I think that means I’m moved in!  We’re going to ignore those three boxes in my room (two and a half, really), okay?  Deal.

What to bake first in the new abode?  Cookies seemed like a no-brainer.  I almost went with oatmeal chocolate chip as they are an old favorite, plus I’ve never blogged them.  But then I remembered something a bit similar that Jill had told me about a few times: Martian Cookies!

mixing bowl o' mix-ins

What gives them the extra-terrestrial name?  Zucchini!  (Martians are totally green, duh.)  They’re not super green, though; you just see little flecks from the skin.  If you or anyone you’d feed these to are weirded out by the presence of a veggie in your cookies, don’t be.  It’s undetectable.  If anything, you’ll be like, “Mmm, oatmeal chocolate chip cookies!  But what’s that?  Ohh, butterscotch!”  That stuff is tricksy like that.

chunky!

Meanwhile, the zucchini martians are on soft cookie patrol.  

Martian Cookies (Zucchini Oatmeal Chocolate & Butterscotch Chip Cookies)
adapted slightly from this recipe

Making these is a great way to use up any zucchini you may have left over from your summer garden.  (I so do not have one of those.)  I love brown sugar, especially in cookies, so the only change I made was to sub some (1/2 cup) of the granulated with brown.  You could go all the way if you want!  Also, to make the prep a little easier, I threw the nuts in my food processor, then grated the zucchini in it.

1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup quick oats
1 cup chopped nuts (I used toasted walnuts)
1 cup coarsely shredded unpeeled zucchini
1/2 cup chocolate chips (I went with semi-sweet)
1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 350F.

With a mixer, cream the butter and sugars until fluffy.  Add the egg and vanilla and beat well.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.  With the mixer on low, gradually add the flour mixture to the butter mixture.

Stir in the oats, nuts, zucchini, chocolate, and butterscotch chips with a spoon or spatula.  (I stirred these all together in the flour bowl first.)  Drop by heaping tablespoonfuls onto a parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes, then let cool on a rack.  Since these don’t really spread, I took them out of the oven partway through baking to flatten them a bit with a spatula.

balls.

This recipe made 38 cookies!  Thankfully I now have three nice, new people around to help eat them.  :)

Martian cookie invading your belly.

By the way, I thought I wasn’t a big fan of butterscotch, but these seem to be going down just fine.  They’re even better the next day!

Looking for more recipes with chocolate and zucchini?  Check out the Chocolate and Zucchini Party hosted by District Chocoholic and City | Life | Eats!  Bonus: almost everything (except these) is vegan and/or gluten-free.

