Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Roasted Fruit Cup

The April 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Evelyne of the blog Cheap Ethnic Eatz.  Evelyne chose to challenge everyone to make a maple mousse in an edible container.  Prizes are being awarded to the most creative edible container and filling, so vote on your favorite from April 27th to May 27th at http://thedaringkitchen.com!

I am so embarrassed!!

Remember the last Daring Cooks’ Challenge aka Edible Containers – Savory?  We were free to do whatever we wanted for the fillings and containers.  We were also told that this month was the first that Daring Cooks and Daring Bakers were being given the same challenge, so I assumed this meant that the DBs would have the same freedom.  This means that I didn’t really read the instructions very carefully.  It turns out that we were supposed to use one of the two provided maple mousse recipes and construct an edible container for it.  While I used an edible container, I totally did NOT make maple mousse.  Fail! 

pear art = peart

It’s ironic though because I actually did use maple syrup, just not at all in the same way.  My idea was to make a roasted fruit cup since I was a little overloaded on sugar, mainly due to Pimp My Easter Basket and Easter in general.

fruit roastin'!

Tracy at Shutterbean had posted a recipe roasted strawberries from Heidi Swanson‘s new cookbook Super Natural Every Day (<– I want!!).  It uses balsamic vinegar, which I knew I would love, thanks to recent batch of ice cream I made.  I also happened to have some blackberries, and thought an Asian pear would make a nice cup.  Easy!

Roasted Fruit Cup

Roasted Fruit Cup
strawberries adapted from Shutterbean who adapted them from Super Natural Every Day

I thought blueberries and raspberries would be nice also, but they’re expensive!

1 firm Asian pear
4 tablespoons maple syrup
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons coconut oil (mine is liquid right now)
1/2 teaspoon salt
a handful of strawberries, hulled and halved
small handful of blackberries

Preheat oven to 350F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

I used my zester to cut a spiral from the bottom of the pear to the top.  This was mainly for design, but was also to help with baking.  Slice off the top of the pear and set aside.  Pierce the top of the inside of the pear, then place on the baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix together the maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, coconut oil, and salt.  Toss the strawberries and blackberries in it.  Remove the pear from the oven and scoop out the insides with a melon baller or small cookie dough scoop (what I used).  You can toss some of the non-core bits in the balsamic mix if you want!

Place the pear cup and top on the baking sheet and brush with the balsamic mix.  Spread all the berries (and pear bits)  in a single layer also on the sheet and bake for 40 minutes.  When done, scoop all of the berries into the pear cup.  Eat while warm!

Roasted Fruit Cup

This is especially tasty when topped with plain yogurt!  If I were a dishonest person, I could have said that that was maple mousse on top.  :P

mmm!

The spirals turned out to be really handy because they made the pear easy to break apart for eating!

breakin' it down!

Anyway, I was really happy with how this turned out, but really bummed that I screwed up the challenge.  Whenever you assume…  I have an idea for what to do with the maple mousse, so I think I’m going to try to do it when I’m back in town.  I’m sorry, Evelyne!

