Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

pretty kale is pretty.

What’s all this fuss about astrology lately?  I’ve never really been into it, but will admit that when I found out my sign would change, it made me sad for some reason.  Of course then I read that it only affects those who aren’t out of diapers yet, so hooray.  (poor babies.)

This post can be an example of why I’m a total Aquarius.  You’ve probably seen some kale smoothie recipes floating around on the blogosphere, right?  Being a somewhat recent kale fanatic who loves smoothies, I was instantly on board.  I decided to try out a few of these recipes and make my own, then report to you.  Consider it my contribution to making the world a better place.

Annnd I had to be weird and make faces out of food again.  I can’t help it.

Kale hair, banana teeth!

First up, I tried Tracy‘s Green Energy Shake!  Hers was actually the first that I ran across and was super excited because she’s always making these crazy good sounding juices with her juicer.  (I don’t have a juicer.  sad face.)  Here’s what gets blended up: kale, orange juice, dates, pear, and frozen banana.

Green Energy Shake

YUM.  I didn’t use enough kale which is why mine didn’t come out as green as hers, but did make it a second time with more: success!  I had never had dates before, but thought they were a great touch.

KaleSpinachPearBanana Man smoking a honey pipe

Next up, I made Joy‘s Kale and Spinach Pear Smoothie, which was inspired by Tracy’s.  This one is almond milk-based with honey, frozen banana, and obviously kale, spinach, and pear.

Kale Spinach and Pear Smoothie

GREEN!  Using almond milk instead of OJ made this a very different tasting concoction.  It was good and less sweet, and I will definitely make this one again, too.

Bearded puckering green dude.

The third one I tried was randomly tweeted by Whole Foods.  They call it Double Green Smoothie because it also contains both kale and spinach.  With dates, almond milk, and banana, it’s a bit of a cross between the previous two, only this time there are berries.

yum...?

Uhh, as you can see, the berries made this one look like bubbling mud.  Probably the frozen mix of cherries and blueberries that I used had something to do with it.  This one was the least sweet, but at the same time, the dates didn’t seem to get blended very much because I was eating big chunks of them at the end.  Yes, it was still good enough to drink it all, but I’m not sure I’ll come back to this one.

Since I liked the citrusy-ness of Tracy’s, I used OJ as the base for mine.  Here goes!

TropiKale face!

TropiKale Smoothie (ahaha, I crack myself up.)

What’s in season right now?  Kale, citrus, and kiwifruit….right?  And what’s available in the freezer section (at least at my store)?  Frozen pineapple!  There’s a ton of goodness in this smoothie.  Kiwifruit is loaded with vitamin C, which you already get from the OJ, and in case you are in need of a reminder about kale, here you go.  Of course pineapple and bananas are full of goodies, too. :)

kale and OJ pureeing the bits foamy kale/OJ all blended!

1 cup kale, washed and roughly chopped with stems removed
1 1/2 cups orange juice
1 kiwifruit, peeled
1 frozen banana
1/2 cup frozen pineapple chunks (I almost went for mango!)

Dump the kale and OJ in a blender and puree until the kale is completely obliterated (no bits!).  Add the rest and blend until smooth.

This makes about 3 cups.  That’s enough for one person, right?  :)

TropiKale Smoothie

SO good, hon!!  If you are sensitive to kiwi seeds, I guess you could pour this through a sieve….but that’s no fun, and it’s an extra dish to wash.  :P

TropiKale Smoothie

Those with any doubts about kale smoothies, I promise these are all tasty in their own ways!  They’re perfect if you don’t like eating greens because any bitterness is completely disguised.

Obviously, you can put whatever you want in them.  If any of you have tried other tasty combos, let me know!

