Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Avocado Lime Shake

I love really simple things that turn out to be really tasty.  If you’re doubting the tastiness of this shake, fear not!

Yes, you would be drinking an avocado. Yes, it looks like liquid guac.

about to blend

But the flavor is awesome!! 

It’s kind of like an avocado got all up in your limeade and smoothed things out a bit.  In fact, it reminds me of a mellow key lime pie – not too tart, not too sweet.  The good thing is that this is much better for you!

Viscosity-wise (did I really just say that?), this is just like a smoothie. The lime juice and water thin it out.

blending

This is supposed to make two servings, but that’s probably because the recipe says to pour it into two 8 ounce glasses full of crushed ice.  Since I used a combination of water and ice in the shake, I poured it into an empty glass…which happens to be for margaritas.

Avocado Lime Shake

Hey, if the shoe fits, right?

Avocado Lime Shake
barely adapted from Moosewood Book of Desserts

Moosewood said to use about 2 limes to get 1/4 cup of juice, but I used 3 and also ended up using a leftover lemon half I had on hand.  What is it with limes this year?

1/2 ripe avocado
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
3/4 cup mix of water and ice
2 tablespoons sugar
dash of salt (optional)

Dump all of the ingredients into a blender and whirl until smooth. Garnish with lime, if desired!

I have a hunch that this would be super duper awesome with the addition of raspberries…just sayin’. (though the color might be a bit interesting…)

Also, I know it’s fall, but we still have loads of avocados here!

